Off Topic - Learning C++

wdd0422

Can anyone recommend a good beginers book for learning Visual C++ ? Also any tips or suggestions on how to get started, what I'll need and what worked best for people who self taught themselves this language.

Thanks in advance for any help
Bill

I used to use the (free) Bloodshed Dev environment. Visual C++ is the name of Microsofts C++ IDE - I'm not sure you were meaning to be that specific. You can also download the free, Visual Studios Express Edition, which includes that. I'd avoid the Linux compilers (gcc, g++) as building and makefiles can be a pain.

If you're after a simple approach to "learning to program" as in: using variables, functions, conditions, etc, for no specific reason, you'd be better off with a scripting language like PHP or Python. C can be syntactically picky and lead to a painful experience. If you're bent on intro GUI work, Visual Basic is probably your best bet - download the free version of Visual Studios (Express Edition).

If you still want to learn C++, pretty much any book should do. Just open it up to the middle and see how they explain things - they can be more or less pedagogical and sometimes over the top. When I started learning C many different compilers didn't support the ANSI standard - it was strange to type example code directly from the book and get a lot of error messages. You won't have that problem anymore. C++ is a language that you should be able to get started in with just a book and your computer.

wdd0422 said:
Can anyone recommend a good beginers book for learning Visual C++ ? Also any tips or suggestions on how to get started, what I'll need and what worked best for people who self taught themselves this language.

Thanks in advance for any help
Bill

I would say look for the beginner books with lots of code examples.
Also the web has a ton a sites for basic routines once you get started.