how to pograme LQR using PLC?

zenocorp

hi, this is my first post in this forum.
i am a final year electrical student from one of the University in Malaysia.

i currently have a project which involve running a DC motor using PLC. the speed of the DC motor is control by LQR algorithm(linear quadratic regulator). The problem is, how can i use the PLC to pograme my LQR controller?

this is my blog diagram.

f_blockdiagram_ee96927.jpg

this is my flow chart

f_mylatestflom_a97f040.jpg

To boldly go where no one ( sane ) has gone before

zenocorp said:
hi, this is my first post in this forum.
i am a final year electrical student from one of the University in Malaysia.
Duh.

i currently have a project which involve running a DC motor using PLC.
A PLC will not output enough power except for the smallest DC motors.

the speed of the DC motor is control by LQR algorithm(linear quadratic regulator).
Why an LQR? Don't tell us it is the professor's stupid idea, ... again. Do you think you are the first student with a stupid professor problem? You can read that as a stupid problem or stupid professor. I don't care they both apply.

Give your self and us a break and get a DSP evaluation kit. They are cheap and much better for this kind of work. You need a matrix library and you will not find one on a PLC.

The problem is, how can i use the PLC to pograme my LQR controller?
With great difficulty without the matrix library. You are using the wrong tool. You should be doing this in Scilab or Matlab. I would give you an 'F' right at the start for using hammer to cut down a tree.

The fastest and cheapest way to do motor control is to buy an already made motion controller that fits or communicates with whatever PLC you are using. As a future engineer your job is to make optimal decisions and this is going to be one of them.

You are the first to ask about LQR.
Why would anybody use LQR for motion control?