ML1500 HSC Woes...

Worsley

Good day all,

I have an Allen Bradley Micrologix 1500 with an SMC stroke reading cylinder (CE1B20-75) hooked into HSC:0. It is using a phase differential sensor (CE1) made by Monosashi-Kun. I have never worked with the HSC's before so I thought I would start by building a test setup to ensure that I could read values from the cylinder, and go from there. The problem is that I have the processor in Run mode, the cylinder is connected as described in the literature, yet when I manually move the shaft back and forth, there is no change in the Accumulated value. I am looking directly at the function file, hoping to see change, but there is none. My sub-elements are set as follows -

PFN -9
UIE -1
FE -1
AS - 1
CE - 1
LPM- 1
HPM- 1
UFM- 1
OFM- 1
CD - 1
CU - 1
MOD- 6 (H)
HIP- 2147483647
LOP- -2147483648
OVF- 2147483647
UNF- -2147483647

Anything I haven't listed here is set to 0. I am looking at HSC0, which is where I have the sensor wired in.
Any thoughts as to what I'm doing wrong?

Cheers,

Mark

Mark,

Because you are moving it by hand (low speed), hook it to a normal input to see if you have it wired properly. If the regular input does not change, then you know there is a problem with your wiring.

The most likely cause is that you do not have power going to the cylinder sensor. It must have a voltage on one side, before it can close and send voltage to the MicroLogix PLC input (for either a High Speed or normal input).

Last edited:
Lancie1, thank you very much for your quick reply;

The output from the sensor, when metered, does fluctuate as the shaft is moved, but the reading is in mV. I have tried moving the cylinder with air pressure, but to the same effect. I have verified and re-verified the wiring, so I guess in an effort to eliminate the variables before I send the cylinder back to the manufacturer, my first concern is that I have the PLC set up properly.