Accessing IP address of Panelview from Rsview

rberghammer

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, I have been going crazy trying to find an answer to this and thought maybe you guys could help.

I have two panelviews (infeed and discharge) communicating with a machine over ethernet. They are both running the same Rsview program, but with unique IP addresses. Each panelview is capable of manually controlling the machine, but when manual control is enabled on one, the control on the other must be disabled.

Right now, when the panelviews first startup, the operators have to press a button to tell the panelview if it is at the infeed or the discharge location. They have to do this so when they enable manual control at one location, the PLC knows which one is in manual and which one must be disabled.

So, my question is.....is there a way that I can use the IP address to tell the panelview software which location it is at so the operators don't have to press that button at startup. This would eliminate any problems due to operator error by making the setup automatic.

I haven't found a way to access the IP address using system tags in Rsview, but my other idea was using an explicit message from the PLC to a specific IP to either change a tag or login a user. This way, I could use that tag or current user to determine the location. I'm just not sure how to set up the message configuration. Would I use a custom CIP Generic? How do I find the service code and instance information?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

I am using an Allen Bradley 1756-L61 controller, RSlogix 5000 v16 software, Panelview Plus 1000, Rsview v5 software.

Thanks

Personally, in your situation, I would make one of them unique, give it's manual mode button and indicator unique addresses, and control which one has mode control with ladder logic.

Using identical applications on two HMIs on the same machines is one of those ideas that looks better on paper than it does in practice IMHOO.