bottle filler

anniel

Hi all
I have to come up with a ladder diagram for a bottle filling operation in a winery. I'm not an engineer and this will be the only time I ever have to do this. Yes it is an assignment, I have completed most of it, but this bit is giving me some trouble. Can anybody help?
Thanks
Anne

Hi, From your profile it says you are a student winemaker. Why would they require you to be able to make a ladder diagram for a bottle filling line. Could you post the full question or assignment details here; something does not seem right. By the way what uni (college) is it. Regards Alan

Alan and Paul
Indeed something is not right. Why would they expect this sort of thing, except that it's 'busy work' as part of winery engineering. We had a 50 minute lecture introducing PLCs and 'looked' at a PLC box in the lab. Originally we had to describe a process that is controlled by a PLC, eg. a press or refrigeration system, but this was changed to a) why are PLCs popular in wineries (that's the bit I've done) and b) draw a ladder logic diagram for an automated PLC controlled bottle filling operation. BTW the university is Curtin in Australia, and for the most part, the course has been tremendous.
Regards
Anne

Anne

I am not sure how you are expected to draw a ladder diagram for a bottling plant (however basic) if you do not know a thing about PLC's, apart from them being a box that you have had a look at.

Are you sure that they want a ladder logic diagram and not a flow chart? I would ask your tutor for comfirmation of what he/she actually requires. It might be the case that you are required to do a bit of research so that you have an understanding of each stage of the wine making process, not a technical ability to be able to program your own plant.

Asking a non-engineering student to draw a ladder logic diagram is a bit much!