SSD Drives

controlled

Lifetime Supporting Member
Ok, its late on Saturday night and I have a small job to do early tomorrow (Sunday) morning. I have a machine with an SSD drive model 690+. It is constantly faulting with a DESAT OVER I message. SSD has suggested exchanging the drive and having the faulty one sent back for repairs. Before I can remove the old one I have to upload the existing parameters. I have ConfigEd Lite installed on my laptop and I have the correct download cable. The problem is, I have never used this software before and I have no idea how to upload or dwonload programs. I have been playing with the software for a few hours and connot see how to do this.
If anyone can give me a quick run through I would greatly appreciate it.
As I said, all I have to do is upload the existing parameters and then download to the new drive.

Thanks in advance....

Derek

Hi

Heres a quick lowdown.......

1. Firstly check you laptop has linx turned off or set to another comm port other than the one you want to use! Even if linx is not in the taskbar it can sometimes be on, check in task manager or else you will never connect!

2. Connect cables from your laptop to the drive (use the drives com port thats under the MMI as sometimes the 2nd port is not as user friendly, if its a small 690 it will only have 1 comm port.

3. open up config ed lite

4. set your comm port to 9600 first and the correct number (ie comm 1)

Command > Comms

5. Then in config ed lite go Command > GetInfo

If the comms are right then the 690+ will be identified in the scratch pad, if no 690 is found then you will get an error box appear. Make a note of version number here.

6. If the drive WAS NOT found go back to step 4 and reset comms too another baud rate say 19200 then try again.

If the drive was found go to step 7

7. In config ed lite go to File > New > New

A dialog box opens, go to C:\program files\cedlite\new\690\ver5