Newbie needs some A-B help.

jben1427

Hello.

I work for a company that manufactures commutators for dc motors. I’m a Process Engineer by trade and have had very little exposure to PLC’s and programming till I was brought in on a slotter project. A few months ago I was assigned the final step in the slotter machine I designed, due to unfortunate circumstances, (cancer) our EE cannot help on the programming. The machine makes slots in commutators where the wires go during the armature construction for the motor.

System Information:

A-B Compact Logix 5000 (L43) Control

A-B Kinetix AC Servo Motor with Sercos Interface

A-B Kinetix Ultra 3000 Servo Drive with Sercos Interface

A-B Panel View 550

A-B RSLogix 5000

A-B Panel Builder 32

Sunx FX-101P (pnp) Fiber-Optic Eye

A commutator is placed on a shaft that is coupled to the servo motor. A fiber-optic eye lowers to the comm. The servo motor turns one complete revolution. As the servo turns the eye reads the edge of the copper bars and the position of the servo motor needs to be recorded. What commands would need to be used to record the position of the servo motor at the edge of each bar as it rotating a complete revolution. Then the number that is recorded needs to be divided in half so the servo will go to the new position and be in place for the saw to come in and make its cut.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you have not used this before, and don't have time to learn, I would suggest calling contractor but if you want to give it a shot, this is what has to be done:

You need to do initial setup of the servo, PLC and network before you can start. Your distributor/AB rep should be able to come and demonstrate servo functionality (and initial setup) if the drive everything is wired and ready to go.