PLC's, power supplies, and wireing

JOLTRON

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello All,

Got a few questions for you guys. I have been programming for a few years now but have not had much hands on with wiring and electrical theory. First couple of questions:
1) If you have 2 plc's running off of the same power supply is it ok to wire discrete communication without isolating them thru relays?
2) How about if the 2 PLC's are running off of separate power supplies, I was told direct discrete is fine if the grounds are tied together?!?!? sounds weird to me.
3) When building a new system what steps are taken to figure out what size power supply you will need?

Thanks everyone,
-joel

1) I would have seperate MCB's between the power supply and the PLC. Cant think of a reason for relays on the power supply of a PLC.

2) What you are told is essentially correct. I would earth bond the 2 systems so that 0 volts is the same across both systems

3)Total up the maximum current, allow for diversity, and multiply for future expansion. I usually goto 150% of what I total up.

Cheers

cjd1965 said:
1) I would have seperate MCB's between the power supply and the PLC. Cant think of a reason for relays on the power supply of a PLC.

2) What you are told is essentially correct. I would earth bond the 2 systems so that 0 volts is the same across both systems

3)Total up the maximum current, allow for diversity, and multiply for future expansion. I usually goto 150% of what I total up.

Cheers

to add to step three make sure you allow for line length current drop

I agree AC is a problem. I forgot that one because here in UK it is pretty much 24V DC control for all new installations

I agree with all of the answers so far. In addition: