Mitsubishi GURUs help requested

mrtweaver

I am by no means new to programing PLC's, freq drives and such. But I am fairly new to the Mitsubishi Q series PLC. I am currently working on a very truncated time table. MGMT has choosen to shorten the time till project is to be up and running. So I am asking that all whom are familiar with the Mitsubishi Line please respond.

1. We have an older version of GX Developer. We were able to get online with the PLC and download the program. However it thru an error about the parameter file being created by a newer version and therefore could not be read by the version we had. Is this really something that happens? Or is the software just throwing some archaic error?

2. On the Q series, has anyone here attached one to an OPC server? (KepServer, Software Toolbox, etc..) If yes which server did you use and how did you have it connected?

3. In the Network Config of the GX dev. there is two radio buttons, one says ASCII code and the other say Binary code. I know the general concepts behind both but am unsure which would be a better option. Looking for feedback on how other attached and configured the system.

4. Do you know how many concurrent connections can be attached to a Q series? I know some of the PLC's we use can have upto 4 concurrent connections, does this also hold true for the Mitsubishi? Are these configured in the Network settings?

5. On a GOT1000 HMI screen. Are these mainly configured by and large for Mitsubishi products only? Or do they have other drivers that allow them to be used for other PLC platforms?

6. If they have other drivers do you happen to know what is supported?

Thanks and have a great day.

Firstly you do not mention the communications you intend to use 232 ethernet, what cards etc.
Kepware works well on 232 & ethernet, you set up a UDP (do not use TCP with Kepware)on ethernet you only need 1 block, I have had 4 connections via scada, pics simulator & programmer.