Think & Do

rkukl

Lifetime Supporting Member
Looking for a discussion about Think & Do.

I have been using AB/RA products for the past many years. And have a through understanding of their offerings but am now at a new company. Been asked to consider using Think n Do and that stuff as a standard. My first reaction (kept it to myself) is no way been using AB for years maybe expensive but it works why change. But I must keep an open mind so been reading the Auto Direct website trying to understand and would like to solicit opinions and discussions.

Thanks Rich

I used T&D on one vacuum furnace project back about 2000. To say that the flow chart programming left a bit to be desired is an understatement. We got the project about 3/4 of the way done before we dumped T&D and went back to the drawing board, slapped in a SLC5/05, and still completed the project on schedule. Others may like it, but I'll never use it again. The savings are not that much, especially if you factor in the longer configuration time. Compare the time to write a simple motor start/stop rung in RSLogix vs motor start stop in T&D. I can get the entire rung done in less time than it takes to drop the first decision block on the flow chart. It doesn't get any better for more complex logic, it gets worse. It handles math expressions very well, but that doesn't offset all the other things I didn't like.

Last edited:
Our company did a Think & Do job before I started working there and now we are quoting a repeat of it.

I have done Steeplechase which is Think & Do's big brother without the HMI part. It is a definate mind bend at first if you have only programmed in ladder. You can be successful if you can grasp flow chart programming. If you have ever written code in C or Fortran, that might help as the flow of things is more procedural than the "fall through" nature of ladder logic.