Howto control tag consume interval on 1756-L61?

oldnewbee

Hi all,
I'm new to both Rockwell/AB and to my company. I find a quite complex CLX-5561 software here that needs some debugging / improvement. My problem is:

- I have a CLX based machine with ethernet interface to a PC.
- At PC side, some tags are consumed - but I don't see how frequently.
- I'd like to set an "update interval" of -say- 5 secs. Means: I'd like the CLX to update the data the PC is consuming every 5 secs.

Now the question is: Where would I have to look for parameters controlling this - at CLX side, or rather at PC side? And what symbol names should I look for?

Is there any documentation explaining how to deal with it? I searched through this website and found some hints like "goto AB website and look for 'common procedures'" - but what I found there did not clarify it to me.
Any help appreciated. Thanks.

PC? As in to an HMI? That would be controlled by the I/O scan settings on the OPC server, not the PLC.

PLC "Produced/Consumed" tags aren't on any interval delay, and are most commonly used for inter-PLC communications.

Hi rdrast,
yes, PC as HMI (mostly). Yes, it's clear that Produced/Consumed Tags are not primarily designed for this - but currently I have to live with it :)
I will check your hint to OPC server settings.
Thanks very much for the quick reply.

rdrast said:
PLC "Produced/Consumed" tags aren't on any interval delay, and are most commonly used for inter-PLC communications.

Actually they are.... the configuration for a Consumed tag includes an RPI (Requested Packet Interval) setting (2.0 to 750.0 mS), which specifies how often the tag data is refreshed. Presumably this would work the same if the producer were an HMI on an OPC server, and presumably again the OPC server would specify RPI for data Produced by the controller for an HMI.

oldnewbee said:
Hi all,