How to control Mitsubishi and Omron plc via PC based program?

ckkhin

I'm working as an engineer with a factory which uses mostly Mitsubishi(FX series) and Omron(CQM1H and CPM1A) plcs. Due to some improvement reason, I am looking a way to communicate with and control all plcs via a PC based program(VB.NET or C#). Any suggestion? And what are the communication cables needed?

This is my first time doing such a project. I have experience doing PLC programming but I'm new to PC based program. Where can I find information on regarding PC based programming for machine?

Thanks.

For this I use OPC.
I particularily like Kepware, but they all do the same thing, and cost the same amount of money.

There might be comm functions you can make yourself, I have on Omron. But OPC is far quicker and easier to program with

edit

Kepware provides examples with the download.

Mitsubishi & probably omron keep their program port protocol a secret, at least I don't know of any published articles on them.

You could use a 232BD board on the mitsi, this is a simple protocol & just accepts data sent to it & stores it in the data memory.

You can also send data from plc i.e D100-D120.

Obviously you would have to work out what bits of the words to use as digital signals & analog.

Most plc's have some form of ascii communications & it's only a matter of converting the data ito what would be type of ascii & with code in the plc convert it back.

I have tested KEPServerEX v4.0 demo. It can do the job but it doesn't have a user friendly interface. I have to manually click and key in 0 or 1 to active and deactivate certain bit.

Thanks for all the help!

Hi ckkhin and welcome to the forum.

An OPC server isn't ment as a user interface but as a tool to gather and send data from PLC's.

You can then transfer your data from and to other programs (eg. a homemade one) via sql or dde or similar.