Control Logix and I/O suggestions

Which I/O would be the simplest to use on a modular system using AB Control Logix

• EtherNet/IP

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • ControlNet

• DeviceNet

• Universial Remote I/O

Votes: 4 57.1%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

DefelRadar

I'm new to PLCS.net and was wanting to get suggestions on an application. I have a modular cell that can be broke into about 12 sections that can be configurable (meaning modules can switch locations in the cell). I will use a AB Control Logix as the PLC for this app but I was trying to explore the best way to deal with the modularity by using "remote" I/O blocks of some type and what would work best/simplest with communicating with the PLC (i.e. Remote I/O, DeviceNet, ControlNet, or EtherNet/IP) Thanks guys!

Ultimately what would be best for the end user to troubleshoot and use but I would like it to be easy to impliment and install as well. However in most cases I've found you can't have the best of both those worlds so the end user always comes first.

I use the ControlLogix system with A-B Flex I/O modules for the remote I/O. Very easy to configure, install and maintain.

We use ControlNet comm., but others may work just as well

Well...I guess 2 questions.

How about requirements? Each of the options has it's own pro's and con's not related to simplicity; speed, future expansion, etc. Are there any complex requirements?

As far as requirements the line has to be able to be reconfigurable or moved to different locations fairly easily. Future expansion is a huge factor and the only thing that is semi complex in nature is it's interaction with an RSSQL DB.

PhilRey - I was looking at AB Flex I/O modules but I heard that alot of people had difficulty using them with ControlLogix. Have you encountered any problems with Flex and why did you choose to use those modules? AB's site wasn't very informative but from what I saw they seemed pretty friendly but I'd just heard horror stories about them.

-Thanx