Connecting to SLC 5

Viks

Hi guys,I have a SLC 5/01 controller at work on a machine which we only once a month and I want to upload the current program and study the correct operation of the machine.The problem is that i cant go online to the controller.The controller has a DH485 communication port and I have a AB USB to DH485 interface converter to connect to it. When I connect the cables to the controller and the PC,aan OK LED lights up on the converter but the USB and the DH485 LED's remain Off.I dont have a manual for this converter and I am completly lost here.Can anyone help me out here please?I missed something,the cable which i used to connect from the converter to the controller is a Allan Bradley cable and it was with the converter.Hope I worded this out right as I'm new to PLC's.Thanks......

Cheers,

Viks........

Greetings Viks ...

first of all, here is the manual for the 1747-USB adapter ...

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/in/1747-in063_-en-p.pdf

also, the information in the following thread might be helpful ...

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?postid=66830#post66830

also ... are you familiar with the fact that you need to set up RSLinx software (configure its driver, etc.) BEFORE you can connect RSLogix500 software to the SLC-5/01 ...

no offense intended - but from what you've posted so far, it's not obvious where you are on the learning curve ... best plan of attack: tell us EXACTLY how you have everything set up so far(particularly RSLinx) ... screen shots are very handy ...

also ... are there other PLCs in the plant that you CAN connect to - or is this the only Allen-Bradley that you have? ...

the more we know about your system, the more detailed help we can offer ... good luck ...

PS Edit ... the whole time I was typing I was thinking to myself: "Mickey's going to beat me to it" ... I was right ...

Greetings Ron...........