VFD Application

randy

Supporting Member
We just install a PowerFlex VFD for a conveyor application. The motor is coupled to a gearbox with a ratio 7:1 and the motor is a 3/4 hp. The speed range which we have sit is from 30Hz to 60Hz.

My question is with the range set at 30Hz, half the speed, will that affect to motor performamce? Is there VFD rated motor for this application?

Thanks

rmonroe

I am not an expert, but experienced

As long as the motor is able to keep itself cool, it should be okay.

I usually don't run into problems until I try to run a motor at 10Hz or less for extended periods. At extremely low speeds running in V/Hz mode, a standard induction motor may try to stall and can overheat from the reduced airflow.

Keep an eye on the drive current display and make sure it stays below the motor rated FLA, make sure the motor stays adequately cooled, and you will probably be just fine.

At half speed and full torque, both an Open Drip Protected (ODP) motor and a Totally Enclosed Fan Cooled (TEFC) motor will be okay.

Next time when you do a job like this, pick a higher ratio gearbox (in this case around 10/1 and run the motor from 84Hz down to 42Hz. The speed regulation will be better, the motor will run cooler, and the starting torque will be higher.

DickDV said:
At half speed and full torque, both an Open Drip Protected (ODP) motor and a Totally Enclosed Fan Cooled (TEFC) motor will be okay.

Next time when you do a job like this, pick a higher ratio gearbox (in this case around 10/1 and run the motor from 84Hz down to 42Hz. The speed regulation will be better, the motor will run cooler, and the starting torque will be higher.
I 2nd the above.
We have had issues when we dropped to 15Hz range with the motor overheating and going into an OL Fault on the PowerFlex drive.
I do agree with DickDV, that's the way to go if you know ahead of time the application. Gear reducers aren't that expensive if you bump the ratio up a bit. Peace of mind anyways.