Multiplexed inputs

burnem83

Hello guys

This is my first time posting on here so I apologise if my terminology is incorrect as I am new to this game.

I currently have a problem with an e-stop message system in work that uses 'multiplexed' inputs. there are 16 e-stop messages that need to be displayed from only 8 input posistions, diodes are used alongside 2 seperate outputs to diffrentiate between two possible locations.

My problem is that however I program the PLC (which is a siemens s7-400) I either get both messages from a given input or none. I know there must be a simple way of doing this but I have tied myself in knots all day.

I appreciate this information may seem a little vague but any info would be helpful

Thanks

Is the messaging system a separate piece of hardware connected to the plc ?
I see 10 outputs from the plc, 8 deciding the message, 2 selecting which bank of 8 to display - is this correct ?

Im using an op7 which is communicated to via profibus, I have no problem showing the messages when I set the correct bit in my Data Block by forcing the values.

I am having problems with the logic as I always seem to be setting both the messages associated with each input, I am finding it difficult to put into words the problem I am having but i will try. The two outputs each provide 24v to 8 of the e-stop NO switches and the PLC needs to determine by which output is on which e-stop of a possible 2 has been triggered.

I have tried using a timer so the first output is sctivated for 1 second and any inputs setting the data bit, then the outputs are switched so the second batch of e-stops are monitored, but however I arrange the logic I set 2 messages when 1 e-stop is hit.

I think this would be a very easy solution to someone with more experience so I am hoping someone has used this method themselves.

Cheers

Last edited: