1771-OFE2 block transfer problems

UScott

I have a 1771-OFE analog output card that is controlling a VFD and a modulating gas valve on an AMU. The OFE-2 is in a remote rack that uses a 1771 ASB RIO and is controlled by a PLC-5. The problem that I am having is that when I put a value into the BTW, (for example lets say 2048) the BTR for that channel sometimes stays at zero, and sometimes will increase to approx. 1600, and if I am understanding this BTW/BTR thing correctly, they should be the same. The length of my BTW is 5, so I believe that means there is no scaling. In word 5 of the BTR, bits 1,2,and 3 = 1. I believe this means there the channels are recieving invalid data? If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it, this is my first time dealing with an analog output card. We do have some spare parts in stock so I already tried to change the analog card, the 1771 asb and the power supply. I was told the system was previously working, but I have no way to verify this.

first of all, have you confirmed the actual current being output to the field - by using a milliammeter? ...

as you said, the data TO the module and the data back FROM the module should “match” ... but at this point, we don’t know whether the “data and signal” going out are OK - and maybe we’re just having a “feedback reporting” problem ... OR ... maybe something else again ...

next, I always recommend having the BTW send the "full-sized" amount of 13 words of data to that particular type card ...

NOTE: if you intend to increase the number of words (from 5 to 13) BE SURE that you don't inadvertently overlap any existing data ... that would be “bad” ...

most important: please follow the advice of my distinguished colleague Ken Moore and post your .RSP file (you’ll need to ZIP it first) ... we’ll do our best to help without the file, but this could be a long hard road ... the more we know, the more we can help ...

and welcome to the forum ...