Exporting Data From PV+

mikeyboy

I am new to the data logging process. I was recently asked to help eliminate some of the Personal Computers on our plant floor. The only reason they are there is to record measurements from processed parts. Currently the quality auditor manually enters the data to an Excel spreadsheet. The machine that produces the parts for measurement has a SLC 5/05 processor and a PV+1000CE. Is there a way for the operator to enter data on the screen and have it recorded on the same Excel spreadsheet we are currently using. Again this is all new to me. I don't even know where to begin. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

here are a couple of basic questions to move the thread along ...

(1) where does the Quality Auditor get the information that he’s entering into the spreadsheet? ... specifically, is that data already present in the SLC processor? ...

(2) see if you can find RSLinx running on a computer which is networked with your SLC processor ... then tell us EXACTLY what it says in the title bar of the RSLinx window ...

linxlite.JPG

that information will help us answer your questions ...

and just a "big picture" idea ... the PanelView is pretty much just a "stupid" device ... the SLC-5/05 is the "brains" of the operation ... so - if the required data happens to be stored in the SLC, then all sorts of magic becomes possible ... and if you have something OTHER THAN RSLinx LITE, then the data collection might (repeat: might) be done at a very reasonable cost ...

Last edited:
Ron, he has a PanelView+CE which is the open OS version of the Panelview Plus. So, there may be more options for getting the data into a spreadsheet.I see where you are leading with the potential to automate the data entry part of it though, and retrieve it centrally using RSLinx without any need for the involvement of the Panelview.

Answers