SLC 500 - Dealing with Analog I/O

justin lutz

Good afternoon, all.

I am working with a SLC 5/03 Processor. In addition, I am using a 1746-NI8 analog input module and a 1746-NO41 analog output module. I have never worked with analog before, so I am unsure as to how to set things up. I've read the AB manual for the 1746-NI8 and have followed the instructions, configuring my first channel (channel 0) with the necessary operating parameters. I then created integer file, i.e.) N:10, with element N10.0, and entered the channel 0 configuration parameters into it. I created a rung of logic which on first pass, copies the contents of N10.0 into the ouput word O:1.0 (thus configuring the channel on startup).

I think I am alright, up until now. There are 2 sludge pumps which maintain a constant discharge flow rate of 300 - 600 GPM, by varying the speed of the pumps' motor with a VFD. I have a magnetic flowmeter which provides a 4-20mA input signal to the PLC, used to maintain a constant preset discharge flow rate from the selected pump(s). An analog output will be provided from the PLC to the VFD to maintain the flow rate within the stated range. This is where I am looking for some direction. How do you effectively utilize the analog input values that are pulling from the field? Is this simple enough that a PID is not needed? Which data type is best to use in order to get back to a meaningful value, i.e.) the discharge flow rate? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Justin

Greetings Justin ...

and welcome to the forum ... before we go any further, it would be a very good idea for you to post your .RSS file ... that will save a LOT of back and forth typing (for you and for us) as we try to nail down what you’re working with ...

I have never worked with analog before