Using the Analog output from a VFD to display RPM on HMI

jamet

Hello

I am new to programming Analog inputs and am wondering how to use the analog output from my inverter drive to an analog input on the PLC. Then output a RPM display to the HMI.

I am using a Hitachi L200 drive. The motor base specs are 200-240/460VAC, 3phase, 2HP, 1800RPM. The PLC is an Automation Direct DL205 with a D2-260 CPU. The drive outputs 0-10V depending on the Hz.

The motor turns a spindle through a belt drive, and the spindle has sort of saw blade mounted to it.

How do I convert this Hz output into RPM to display?

Thanks

Anthony

jamet said:
Hello

I am new to programming Analog inputs and am wondering how to use the analog output from my inverter drive to an analog input on the PLC. Then output a RPM display to the HMI.

I am using a Hitachi L200 drive. The motor base specs are 200-240/460VAC, 3phase, 2HP, 1800RPM. The PLC is an Automation Direct DL205 with a D2-260 CPU. The drive outputs 0-10V depending on the Hz.

The motor turns a spindle through a belt drive, and the spindle has sort of saw blade mounted to it.

How do I convert this Hz output into RPM to display?

Thanks

Anthony

The RPM of the motor will be proportional to the HZ output by the drive. If you aren't worried about being too exact, you can figure 60 Hz = 1800 RPM (The exact RPM will depend on the slip of the motor)

So at 30 Hz, the motor is at 900 RPM etc. Basically, Motor RPM is Hz * 30.

Next, you have to take into account the belt drive unless the pulleys are exactly the same diameter. If they are not, you have to multiply by the ratio of the pulley diameters. If the driving pulley is smaller, the output RPM will be smaller if the driving pulley is larger, the output RPM will be larger. So, if you have a 10" pulley driving a 12" pulley the speed will be reduced by the factor of 10/12.

Now the fun begins...