zero PLC experience

lilcoolaidman

Hi everyone,

Tired of seeking employment as a Senior Graphic Designer, and now in the thinking process of switching fields. A Friend of mine working for a plastic manufacturing Molding company had asked me to learn PLC, so that he may be able to help me land a job. I have no knowledge in this field at all, although I am a very technical person and have a little understanding of relays and switches, its functions and device mechanism.

Million Dollar question. Is this a good field to get into? Is there a good demand on these profession? I am no genius and not dumb either, how long does an average person get to learn and be good with this programming?

Thanks to anyone out there kind enough to give advice or opinion, very much appreciated.

Thanks
lilcoolaidman

A PLC is only one of many tools you'll need to be familiar with if you want to get into the automation field. What do you know about hydraulics, pneumatics, AC & DC motors and drives, closed loop control systems, proximity sensors, limit switches, photoelectric sensors, solenoid valves, analog pressure sensors, flow sensors, temperature sensors, just to mention a few? If you don't know much about the field devices that will be connected to the PLC, you're not likely to create good programs.