I/O to Tagname

ABGreen

I am new to using tagnames for plc programming. How do I find what tagnames are tied to for real world i/o in an existing RSLogix 5000 PLC?

Also, How would I search used and unused I/O points in this 5000 processor?

This is a flexlogix controller.

Thanks,
ABGreen

Last edited:
Typically, although not always, we use Aliases for I/O.

So, the automatically generated "Base" Tag of something like: Local:2:.I.Data.5 would mean, Local chassis, slot #3, Input data point #5

You could then make an "Alias" tag which is a *new* tag that you can name as needed for your application and point that tag to the "Base" tag for it's data. So in your program you could use the name "Pump_Start" as an alias to that base tag.

If you open the tag window and sort by the "Alias For" column you can track down what Aliases are tied to what Base tags. Also, on the tag window is a "Show" option where you can filter. From there you can select "Unused Tags". This would show you tags that you have created aliases for, but have not used.

OG

Last edited:
Example

Thank you for your help. Here is what I am seeing in the controller that I am trying to work with.

Tagname: DI_PB_UT_Off
Alias for: DI_01_00.3(C)
Base Tag: DI_01_00.3(C)

My guess is that this is a discrete input card located in card 1 (second slot) of the local bus, data point #3. I expected the alias and the base to be different.

What is the (C) for at the end?

Thanks in advance!
ABGreen

hi,

it looks like there are 2 aliases used. check if DI_01_00.3 is also an alias for something else.

I think you have to check for DI_01_003 only. I am sure this is an alias for a real Input or Output.

greets

Tagnames

How would I go about digging deeper for an alias within an alias to get to the base tag for that alias?

I need the automatically generated base tag to find out where the tag is being used as the real output or input.