Connecting SLC 5/03 to EZPanel Enhanced

tearhole

Hello out there.
I am purchasing a touchscreen and will be going with an EZAutomation 8-inch Ez-Panel Enhanced version. I would like to connect this to an A-B SLC 5/03. I have used these with a Koyo DL06 via serial connection before but I have never configured this particular combination. I know that the 5/03 has DH-485 but the EZAutomation catalog lists AB Ethernet I/P as an option. Is this the same thing? Has anyone used this combination before and in what manner did you connect these?
Thanks in advance for any advice.
Chris

DF1 is supported but I have never used it. I am relatively new to A-B PLC's but I'm sure I can figure out how to configure it. Do you know anything about DF1?

Yeah, DF1 / RS-232 , if I remember right. Have you or anyone else had any good or bad experiences with the 5/03 & EZPanel combo?

Also, if I use the serial port, will I have to unplug the touchscreen to connect my laptop the CPU? I would normally use that port for programming/monitoring status.

Thanks,
Chris

I have not used the EZPanel SLC combo.

Also, if I use the serial port, will I have to unplug the touchscreen to connect my laptop the CPU? I would normally use that port for programming/monitoring status.

Yes, you would. So use the DH485 port on your SLC and configure the EZPanel for DH485. See link above, it says it supports DH485.
Or AB makes a serial port splitter.

Last edited:
tearhole said:
Yeah, DF1 / RS-232 , if I remember right. Have you or anyone else had any good or bad experiences with the 5/03 & EZPanel combo?

Thanks,
Chris