AB Micrologix Comms Question

Kabir

I have been working with Rockwell for a few years, done many projects from design with PLC2, PLC5, SLC, Panel View, RSVIEW etc.

I have not really worked with Microloix but I’m thinking about using two of them in an upcoming project.

The Machine has two sections, one moving carriage and a stationary section each with its own control panel. The carriage requires a single incremental encoder and the reset of the machine is ON/OFF type operations.

So what I’m thinking about doing is using two micrologix one for the carriage that would be connected to the encoder as well as a few motors and sensors. Then a second on the stationary section that would take up all the operator control switches and indicator lights, in addition to hydraulic pumps and valves. The stationary section I also plan on using a PV550 touch panel interface for parameter entry.

Communications

I have never connected PLC's together using the DF1 protocol although I’ve used it to connect panel views to PLC’s and PC's to PLC’s.

The stationary Micrologix would be outfitted with two ports one connected to the panel view and the other connected to the Carriage Micologix all using the DF1 protocol. Speed should not be a problem because there would no high demand data between the controllers. The micrologix on the carriage would be doing an advance to length function using the encoder; however all of the motors for that would be connected to that very controller.

Two questions, would I encounter and communication issues, in addition would anyone like to make any suggestions?

I would use ML1100 or ML 1400.
Also connect the PLCs by Ethernet.(Very Easy)
I don't sure if you can connect 2 PLCs by DF1.
You can do so by DH485.

my 2 cent

ArikBY said:
I would use ML1100 or ML 1400.
Also connect the PLCs by Ethernet.(Very Easy)
I don't sure if you can connect 2 PLCs by DF1.
You can do so by DH485.

my 2 cent
I thought the 1400 was not out yet?