HMI programming

Shohadawy

I'm a newbie to this field, so please don't get annoyed as my question requires a very long answer

I'm asking about the HMI programming ... I want the steps that I should follow from connecting my plc to the HMI panel to getting my panel operating with my PLC ... I need to know how the objects that I draw on the operator panel with the configuration software is linked to the variables and operands in the PLC specially when the addressing method used in them is different.

You can explain using your own PLC and HMI brands. I just want to understand the basic idea for the problem

In general, an object such a push button or light will be placed on a display screen. That object will have properties that you assign to tags or memory locations in the PLC that will modify its behavior. Most of the time you double click on your object and the properties for that object will be displayed for editting.

A simple push button will have a property that describes what bit to turn on or off in the PLC's address space.

A simple light/indicator will have a property that describes what memory location in the PLC to monitor for its on /off behavior.

Each HMI configuration s/w package has different extensions of the simple objects described above. Lists, numeric displays, graphs, numeric entry, bit mapped graphics, etc. are some of the advanced objects that are featured in most HMIs.

jstolaruk said:
In general, an object such a push button or light will be placed on a display screen. That object will have properties that you assign to tags or memory locations in the PLC that will modify its behavior. Most of the time you double click on your object and the properties for that object will be displayed for editting.

But what about the addressing of these tags. I can see that the addressing symbols used in my HMI panel is different from used in my PLC ... How Can I link the objects in the HMI with the variables in the PLC?