CompactLogix L35E and Emerson Ovation

kingnutin

I am a bit new to Allen-Bradley PLC's, and need to draw upon the experts of this forum.

I have a CompactLogix L35E which will be controlling four pumps. The overall start/stop signal will be coming from an Emerson Ovation DCS. Everything I have read and been told, Ovation integrates with AB well. I have two digital output cards, one digital input and one analog input card connected with the L35E. Besides basic start/stop commands I have a running indicatin from each pump, and also need to send back a flow and sump level.

I can talk to and program the L35E with its ethernet port all day long. What I can't figure out is how to make it so that the Ovation can send its signals to the L35E and vice versa. I have looked at twenty million manuals from Rockwell which all seem to be geared towards the L35E controlling other items, but nothing on how to control the L35E from another device. I have seen things on using messaging, tag mapping, and adding another ethernet port module to the LocalENB in RSLogix 5000.

After spending two weeks off and on, I am at the end if my rope. It doesn't help that I have a mini version RSLogix 5000 and can't even open up their sample projects to reverse engineer things. ARGH!

The Emerson guy tells me he just needs the address of the L35E(check), and the individual address of the tags(umm I don't see any addresses other than the hardware module locations). He said the address tags were something like FS:######?

I have read rockwell's enet-um001 document as well as many others, and maybe I am just too dense to understand it.

Let the schooling begin!

I am interested in this issue; I have a major customer asking me similar questions.

ControlLogix-family controllers use 40-character tagnames. If Ovation is able to communicate with native Logix tags, you should have to provide the Tag Name (like "FlowChannel_2_GPM") and the Data Type (BOOL, INT, DINT, REAL, STRING, etc).