Bit Shift Left

ki4mva

i am just getting started in programming the micrologix 1000 and want to do a Bit Shift Left. my question is what info do i put in the box under "FILE"....is this an N or can it be a Bit file...i would like an example....also, CONTROL...is this the switch that controls the 1 or 0 when it goes into the first block? and BIT ADDRESS, what is this? last but not least what is LENGTH and what does it do? i know how it works but can't find an example of a 1 moving left and causing an output to turn on....i know so little, just enough to get into trouble..HELP

Bit shift is used to shift the state of a bit, say first bit to the left or right [Depend on BSL or BSR] where the shifting is based on a constant change in state. Say for example you have an inspection on station #1 of the indexer and the reject station is a couple of stations later say station #8. Shifting the stored bit states inside a word or a group of consecutive words to the reject station can be achieved using bit shifting. Upon shifting the states of bits in the whole word/s are shifted, giving you a transition of state from one station to another when the indexer turns.

File - It is a group of bits, in which you want to transfer the state of bits. You can use any bit file say, B3. So B3:0 is a word in file B3. where B3:0/0 is the first bit in the word B3:0, and B3:0/15 is the last bit in that word. Each such word contains 16 bits. If you need to shift more than 16 bits, it uses B3:0, B3:1, B3:2 and so on [16 bits + 16 bits + .......]But there is limit on the maximum size.

Control - It is a register file say R6 where the instruction is used to store its various states, example position of shift, unload bit state etc. Each R6 word, say R6:0 consists of 3 word length [you do not have to worry of this]