Increasing an output by a percentage

Rockman

Hello I am fairly new to PLC programming and am trying to figure out how to write a particular program.

I am trying to write a program that will increase an analog output by 5% each time a button is pushed.

When the button is initally pushed I am going to move a value of 5% into a an interger register lets say N7:1. Each each time the button is pushed again I'm going to use the add function to add 5% to what is in N7:1 and then write the result back to N7:1.

In order to output whatever value is in N7:1 at any time I am going to put the value at N7:1 in a scaled output block and scale it 0-100% = 6553-32768.

So when the button is first pressed it will write a 5 into N7:1. When the button is pressed again it will add 5 to the value of 5 in N7:1 and write this total of 10 back into N7:1. This value of 10 will then be referenced to the scaled output block which will give it its corrosponding analog output.

Am I missing something here?

scale it 0-100% = 6553-32768.

before we go any further, please tell us where you came up with that range of numbers ... reason for asking 32768 will usually cause a fault if you try to drive an integer location that high in an RSLogix500-type processor ...

and welcome to the forum ...

I may be incorrect with these numbers however I thought these were the floating point numbers corrosponding with an analog signal value.

Rockman said:
I may be incorrect with these numbers however I thought these were the floating point numbers corrosponding with an analog signal value.

Those are integer values. They will depend on which analog card you have. Can you tell us the part number of the analog module you have and the processor your using.

See pic below for what Ron is talking about ( overflow values)
toohigh.jpg

Last edited:
See below for one method to increase number by 5.