I could use some help with my pneumatic automation

motorgang

Hello all, I'm a bit of a newbie, so please forgive me in advanced.
I have a simple process, and need some advice.
The process and equipmentis...
Directlogic dl05, and a SMC double acting cylinder.
What I am trying to do is, apply 200# psi on a vertical stroke to a panel, 10,000 times, or until the cylinder breaks through.
I started by using a digital pressure regulator, set a predetermined pressure to cyl,( 2" cylinder, 64psi applied),
an upper(#1) and lower(#2) l.s. on cyl, that inputs to plc, input from upper l.s. sends output to sol valve, cylinder reaches lower l.s., which de-energizes sol valve.
That does not ensure full 200# of pressure, so I think I need a load cell, with module, also it does not allow my "break through" signal, which initially I intended to use a 3rd l.s(#3), which I have determined wont work, because as it hits the #2 l.s., cylinder automaticly retracts.
Is there some other sort of way of doing process without load cell....
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Motorgang

motorgang said:
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Motorgang

How about another cylinder partially filled with hydraulic oil. Stack the second cylinder with the air cylinder and connect the oil side of the cylinder to a hydraulic oil pressure switch. Now instead of reversing when you hit the end of the air cylinder, reverse when the pressure switch is made. You will have to figure out what the correct presuure setting on the oil cylinder pressure switch. Then you can use the end of stroke on the air cylinder to indicate when you have broke through.

ls.JPG

How repeatable do you need to be?
+/-5 lbf? +/10lbf? That will determine to a large degree what kind of instrumentation you need to have and whether a pressure switch will be sufficient or whether you need a pressure transducer.