Total beginner

Nhrafan26

Ok, I am trying to learn PLC programming and have a PLC already with a copy of WinGPC that I'm playing around with.
I have read through material on this site a few others here and there.
I was able to connect a circuit and write a simple little program to take input from a switch then activate 4 outputs after a timer of 200ms, then turn off each light sequentially at 8 sec, 6sec, 2sec then the last one.
I'm trying to think of things to write a program for and thought of the garage door opener.
I'm kind of stuck on the light circuit though...
How would you write a program to turn on the light when the door opens or closes then stay on for a period of inactivity until automatically turning off?
This sounded like a simple thing until I go to write it...
Thanks.

assuming that you just want a hint and not a giveaway:

if the PLC you're working with has a TOF (Timer Off Delay) instruction, try programming the motor to control the TOF ... then use the TOF Done bit or the Timer Timing bit (if you have one) to control the lamp ... then maybe reverse an "open" contact to a "closed" contact, or vise-versa, etc. ...

play around with those ideas and see what you come up with ...

Last edited:
Ok, I was able to connect to the motor output and have the light stay on for XX seconds after motor activates.
Now, anyone know how to make a one shot button in WinGPC?
How to program to use the same button to start and stop process?
Or how to make an input reset after using once? Like a garage door opener button?
I did read about MC and Master reset (?) but don't really understand it yet. Would I use this for something like that?
I know when looking around at programs at work in AB I see bits labeled one shot but don't know how to put that in WinGPC.

Now I'm really getting beside myself here...
I have a handful of Cutler-Hammer E65-SMPR3-GD P.E.'s and cannot get them hooked up any way to trigger an input on the plc.