Power problems when going through PLC

Imracing

I am looking for some advice and I hope this is the place. I fairly new to PLC's but I have been working with them for a year and have never had this problem.

I am a teacher and our school decorates a shelter at a park each year. This year we thought we would be smart and use a PLC to flash some lights and run some motors.

I have a set up that uses the Micrologix 1500 PLC with 9 Relays. Relays 0-3 are Omaron with 110V trigger Relays 4-8 are Omaron with 24v triggers. Relays 0-3 work fine but 24v relays do not. When I run them through the PLC it acts like it shorts the 24v power supply out. When I check with a multi-meter not hooked to any of the relays the PLC output shows 24v. Any ideas. I keep thinking it is a wire issue but I have checked and rechecked.

Josh

Whats the source of your 24VDC? If its the controllers user power out there is only 400ma available. You may need a external power supply. See pic below

userpowerout.jpg

Update with wire layout

I have a Micrologix 1500 model 1764-24AWA. I have attached a wire layout that one of my students made prior to wiring the unit. It is a word file and a little crude but it gets the point across.

Could this be the issue.
I was told on another forum to add a grounding strap from the unit base along with the terminal ground that this will eliminate noise.

I have an external 24VDC power suppy for the unit. I have tried two different ones. It just doesnt make since. When I turn the PLC on I measure 24V comming out. I hook up the relay and I have nothing.

Thanks for you help.

Trying to make since of things.
Josh

Try and hook up the relay coil straight to the Dc power supply and see what happens you should be able to here the relay click if it doesn't work I would double check to make sure the coil's are 24 vdc not vac.