Motorola MOSCAD ACE3600 Data Retention

bluenoser337

I'm a newbie with the Motorola ACE3600 and have an issue with data retention. These RTUs have a battery backup but if the AC is down long enough for the battery to discharge fully, as far as I can see...all data is lost. The CPU lithium battery maintains the program code, but none of the data. Is there a way to retain some data in these units? Perhaps I am missing something simple. The manual does mention optional SRAM for the CPU, but I'm not sure I really need it. It seems odd to me that not a scrap of data is retained on these. Thanks!

I have not been on the forums in a while and just found this post. Are you still having problems or did you get an answer to your questions?

Hi Webhead...There is NO data retention in the ACE CPU unless you program the writes and reads in "c". Unfortunately, I must report that despite numerous attempts to get information from many sources within Motorola, they were not very willing to assist me any further than directing me to the manual on "c" programming. What I was looking for was the bit of code required to write and read back a single value....then I would take it from there to build what I needed. I found Motorola's direct tech support to be very poor...even to the point of ignoring my e-mail requests. Also, I was often directed to personnel with no knowledge on this subject..and they would never follow through to direct my question to someone that had the knowledge. I was forced to complete my project without this "retention" functionality. Hopefully others aren't having the same level of tech support. It's like they are "too big for their britches" and ignoring one little guy doesn't matter at all. Hmmmm...are they related to GM? :(

Yeah there support can be a bit...... unsuportive at times. The only way we have found to do retentive values, if I understood your original question correctly, is to use the PARM value type for setpoints etc.