Where to start my career?

mpr4069

I am new to this. Just out of a community college where I completed my AAS in engineering technologies with a certificate in electrical specialties, and I am curious where I should get my start. I am really green and the classes did not go over anything but RS logix 500 software using SLC100 controllers. Some of the threads I have read are really over my head and I am not familiar at all. I am a bit worried now. What do companies expect from new graduates?

Typically for someone just starting out, I don't expect them to be able to program PLC's. I assume I will have to train someone out of college to be an electrician. When I went to school, we got mostly theory with minimal hands on. Probably still the same.

When I do hire someone out of college I will start them out at the bottom. This includes running conduit, pulling wire, sizing wire and running plant breakdowns. There is usually 1 out of 5 that make it to programming PLC's and doing other heavy controls work. These are usually the ones who are hungry. By hungry I mean married, possibly divorced, with kids, mortgage, and child support. When your stomach starts rumbling, you tend to do what it takes to advance.

To advance you must learn, and not just be happy where you are at. Accept responsiblity, don't leave the job till it is done, be prepared to spend the night, and show that you can be trained.

Thank you for your reply. How does one keep learning if they are pulling wire and bending conduit? Should I look into some simulation software to keep learning at home and where I may land professionally? If so, what do you recommend?