Help me with communications path?

Wyo_Knott

I'm a contractor working for a manufacturer. The manufacturer has several contractors working on various projects in the plant. I am working as part of the manufacturer's maintenance department. I often have to follow up the installation contractors to get upgraded equipment fine-tuned. A recent project programmer gave me a copy of the RSLogix5000 file he was installing on an updated machine. I have to use the maintenance department's "community" laptop and although I can open the file and study it in in RSLogix I cannot connect to the processor via the supplied IP port on the machine. I know the IP address of the processor and can browse it with Internet Explorer. I just cannot connect through RSLinx..etc. I get a message about setting the Communications Path. Nothing I've tried so far has helped. I have the save version (16) of RSLogix5000 that the programmer was using.
Any suggestions?
Wyo_Knott

Last edited:
open Linx and go to configure drivers. Look to see if an ethernet or an ethernetIP driver is set up. If the is an IP driver there you dont have to do any more. you can close linx and browse to the driver from logix 5000 software. To browse to it click on the top icon next to a box that shows the last path used, it looks like 3 little screens. if there is a ethernet driver in linx open it and and see if the IP is entered into it. If not add it and then close linx and go to it from 5000 like I said before.

Thanx,
I hate to be difficult and hate looking dense even worse.

I can set up ethernetIP driver with not problem. The path to my controller is not in the last path used or in the menu to select a path from a list of several. The laptop I'm using has never connected to this controller so there is no valid path. I need to know how to manually build a comminications path. This laptop has 'Linx Lite installed and I'm suspecting this to be one of the problems. What d'ya think?

Wyo_Knott