A PLC and a washing machine

mgprim

Hi yall,
I am very new at the PLC. I am working on a project that involves controlling a commercial front loading washing machine with a PLC. I have been looking at the Allen Bradley SLC 500 series, and I was wondering what modules do I need to get.

The components in the machine that need to be controlled are the following:

3 water valves (220V ac)
1 drain value (220V ac)
1 pressure switch
1 door lock solenoid (220V ac)
1 door switch
1 power incidator light (220V ac)
1 Variable Frequency Drive (220V ac 3phase)
1 1HP 230\460 V ac 3 ph motor

I also have an Allen Bradley PanelView 600 with RS-232 and DEVICENET, in which the user would use to change cycle settings. The Variable Frequency Drive has analog voltage and current inputs to change the direction and speed of the motor.
My plans are to use the PLC and operator panel to drive the washing machine. I would like the PLC to control the speed and direction of the motor by suppling the VFD with the proper voltage or current, and for the PLC to react when the door is open and when the water level is not high enough. Any help or suggestions would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!

Thanks!

Just to be sure: this is a school, educational project, not a real thing to be sold for profit, right? I don't think it is a good idea to use an SLC500 for a commercially sold washing machine, for many different reasons...

I would say using a SLC is a bit overkill - of course if that is all you have then what choice do you have?

You would be able to do it with a "brick" PLC eg Micrologix. I did in my class project.
HOWEVER I did not use a VFD.
Have seen commercial washers use PLC and VFD - worked well - so your setup is a realistic copy of real world.

You may be able to do it with out PLC control of VFD speed - let the ramps handle that just do PLC control motor direction.

Dan Bentler