slc5/04 online editing

betamax6

help please...
when performing online editing, should i still click "download" after i have accepted the changes made for them to take effect? i am new to allen bradley and i am really confused with the environment. also, are there special utility relays in ab (specifically rslogix500) like in other plc brands - N.O. bit, N.C. bit, 1sec timer, 10sec timer, etc...i am confused with the addressing scheme of ab software, like how do i address a bit? in a particular bit, which is the symbol and which is the comment?

thanks!

Hi betamax.

If you are online with the processer (the "ladders" are rotating) then you are doing online editing on the code in the CPU. You dont have to download, but you should do an upload after you are finished so that your offline file is syncronised with the online program.
One thing you must do for each rung that you edit, is the "accept the edits". There is a button in the editor window for this purpose. If you dont do that, the code is there but does nothing.
If the CPU is in program mode, the edits are accepted the moment you activate that button. If the CPU is in remote run mode, then you also have to test edits and assemble edits, in the same way you accepted the edits. The buttons to test and assemble edits are right next to the accept edits button.

Bits are addressed in this way:
I:1/5
N7:10/3
Timer bits of interest are the enabled bit (for example T4:10/en), the timing bit (T4:10/tt) and done bit (T4:10/dn).

I hope this helps

The 5/04 standard addy is:
O= real world outputs eg: O:2/08 = output/slot 2/bit 8
I= real world inputs eg: I:1/15 = input/slot 1/ bit 15
B3= internal bits eg: B3/0 = bit 0 of the B3 file
B3/109 = bit 109 of the B3/file
T4= timers eg:T4:0 = timer 0 of the T4 file
eg:T4:0.dn timer 0 is done
C5= counters eg: C5:0 counter 0 of the C5 file
eg: C5:0.acc value of timer 0
N7 eg: N7:0 = an integer word (ints can be put here)