E Stop Installation

klm

Could I get some comments on how to install a E-stop.
I'm totally new at this and I was looking for some
direction on the typical install and theory. I would appreciate your help.

Thanks-

K-

At risk of sounding like a smart arse, you should get hold of the standards relevant to the area your installation is going to be, because it's your neck if you take on safety task you don't understand. The Pilz website has good beginner information on it as well, so check that out.

I agree with Binaural, find rules and regs. READ OSHA.
Many makers of safety equipment have great tools on their web sites.
Study "Risk Assesment"

Here is another link from Omron/STI
http://www.sti.com/safety/index.htm

For more direct helps from the forumn members you may consider a decription of what you are trying to do, how the equipment operates, etc.

Hope this helps

In addition to the other information, I thought I would give my opinion.

Don't let anyone talk you into just using relays or a standard PLC for the system.

Do a risk assessment and don't do it by yourself. You should involve a safety person, maintenance person, and production person to guide you through tasks that they do.

Use good documentation for the system.

Be wary of safety items that use special programming unless all the maintenance people understand how to use them.

Put in good "diagnostics". I use a banner EZLight at every e-stop (green OK - flashing red tripped). I bring a mimicked input into the local plc for display on an HMI. I also have a map displayed on the HMI of the system showing the location and status of each e-stop.

Check your system out after the installation to make sure it works as designed (yes pull every e-stop and document what happens). Also help them develop a way to check every e-stop on a periodic basis.

On systems with inertial energy, make sure that the system is at zero potential before allowing a gate to be opened.