SCL 500 Comm card

Sparky

banghead
I'm trying to find the hardware for a SICK barcode scanner to communicate directly to a SCL500 5/05 5.20.00. The scanner uses ASCII.
right now we run the scanner data throught a PC application and have WonderWare on the ethernet communicating with the SLC. Right now we are having a few comunication problems that I think might be solved if I send the data directly to the PLC. However I don't know what kind of comm card I should look into to accomplish this task. Any info or direction would be greatly appriciated

big thanks

thanks alot I think I have the information I need now. You guys are a big help to someone just ketting started in this stuff.

Thanks Again
Rusty

Any Clues

I have never worked with the ASCII files on the PLC. What do I with the data? Is their a subroutine or file that haves to be implemented or specific command for converting ASCII to a integer? I know I'm asking allot but to be honest I have only two years experience with PLCs while the simple logic and programming came easy for me this is all Greek.

ASCII commands

In RSLogix500, in your "tabbed instruction bar" >>arrow over to the ASCII section. There are all of the ASCII manipulation instructions for the SLC 500, If you don't understand look in RSLogix500 Help; "SLC Instruction Help" Most of the ASCII instructions start with an "A" (In help they are in alphabetical order).
I have not done a lot with ASCII, other than taking user entered text from a Panelview and storing/comparing string files.

ascii.gif

Sparky said:
I have never worked with the ASCII files on the PLC. What do I with the data? Is their a subroutine or file that haves to be implemented or specific command for converting ASCII to a integer?

I don't have the manual in front of me so this may not be 100% accurate but here goes.