PC to PLC communication without using standard software from the makers

aceakshay

Hi all..
Well I'm very new to this field, and please excuse me if i post something stupid..
Can anyone please tell me how do we read and use data from a PLC without using the softwares given by the makers of the PLC.

Thanks,

Akshay.

Question not understanable.

Hi Akshay,
Your question not clear and understanable.
If you explore your question in details I will help you.
I am also from Pune. You may send me personal message I will give my cell number.
Bye,
Riyaz.

As long as we're talking about run-time stuff like setpoints and process variables, and not program uploading/downloading, OPC is your method of choice. Some OPC companies, such as MatrikonOPC and Kepware, offer OPC Servers as an alternative to vendor-supplied ones. Popular devices usually have the most alternatives.

We've got a pretty good tutorial for those new to OPC available at: http://www.matrikonopc.com/resources/opc-tutorials.aspx

I'll explain a bit further..

I'll explain a bit further...
Well the softwares given by the makers can read the data from the PLC, and also we can program the PLC as per the requirement using ladder diagrams etc.
What i need to ask is, is it possible to read the outputs of the PLC using Java and VB (Custom made software)?

Thanks for your posts..

Akshay.

Almost all PLC vendors provide (or sell) an OPC server that allows data access to their PLCs using third party equipment or applications. This is most likely the easiest way to satisfy your need. If you search google for 'opc visual basic' or 'opc java' there is a wealth of information on creating an OPC client in Visual Basic or Java.