PIDE: a challenge for a newcomer programmer

buhnen

Hi all dear fellows...

I'm sure any of you might have seen any of my posts in this forum, almost always going around the same topic : PID, PIDE.

The matter is that I've been gathering along these last months quite much useful information posted here (Once again, thanks specially Ron Beafourt for sharing all your vast knowledge on the matter with us) but it hasn't yet come to me the chance to go in the "fine-programmation" of my project which involves the PIDE programming ( I'm waiting to be sent to the working place where the project is being perfomed : a water treatment plant)

So, yes, I've got huge loads of tips,technical literature, posts dealing with his to be read...and so on. But all of this information in hands of an unexperienced (and almost self-taught made) programmer is just seeming to me to be like having thousand pieces of a puzzle, other words: like I got a fragmentary approach to the PIDE programming but not a global and practical vision I can make sense of it.

So as a last attempt, I just wanted to post here with enough level of detail how exactly my application is about and listen to all of your tips.

Description of the process:

- A water tank getting filled of water from a pipe on the top of it.

- A floating high-level switch at the top for a purpose that is not a need to be understood here by now.(excuse my poor technical english guys).

- A floating low-level switch at the bottom (It must always be TRUE, otherwise the water pumping out process will be inmediately stopped)

-A LIT (level transmitter 4-20 mA) which is my analogic input feeding the PV parametre to the PIDE block and is going through a 1769 IF8 analogic input card.

Detecting the water filling level.

-Two pumps: Lead and Lag. The lead on is linked to a speedrive's and the lag pump is started straightly. The speeddrive analogic input gets the PIDE's CV through a 1769-OF8C analogic output (the CPU is a 1769-L32E).