Step 7 - Pass DB to FC

cdavis

I am very new to Siemens. Here is my problem. I want to create a function to control an AB drive (on profibus). I have written the functions to read/write data to the drive. The inputs and outputs to each drive are contained in a DB. In my function, I have declared an In/Out parameter of type UDT 20 (which is the UDT for the drive I/O). How do I pass a data block to this function?

DB Derived From UDT

Any suggestions on how to do this with a DB derived from a UDT? I have a UDT that is structured to work with a FM353 Stepper controller. Because of some built in functions I have to use a DB that is derived from this UDT. Each one of the FM353's requires it's own DB derived from the UDT. I am trying to write a function to read and write values in the DB, but I do not want to write a different function for every axis. I would prefer to write one function that has an IN_OUT of the UDT type and pass the DB of the axis I want into the function. When I try this it does not work. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Post a cut down version of your project that includes all relevant blocks. i.e. Create a library, copy the blocks to the library, archive and then attach to your post.

Here is a simplified version of what I am trying to do. In OB1 I want to call FC1 and pass it DB1. The compiler would not let me save it that way, so it is not shown that way in OB1. I included a screen shot of the what I am trying to do with FC1. The whole point here is write 1 FC and be able to call it multiple times and pass it the DB that I currently want to work with.

Thanks

OB1.jpg

Attachments

• DB.zip
    43 KB · Views: 8
I havent looked into your project, but I am guessing you have just defined one structure in DB1, based on the UDT.
Rather than passing the whole DB1, pass just the structure, like "MyDB".MyData

1st, give DB1 a symbolic name, that is important.

You cannot make a "DB of type UDT1". edit: Guess I was wrong there :=o