Analog input scaling

jcraft

Bear with me here as I am new to programming. I have never done anything with analog inputs. So I am using a ge plc and have a pressure transducer with a 4-20ma output connected to an analog input card. The pressure transducer is rated for 0-5"WC. Now I am trying to understand how to bring this data in and scale it properly so the actual " of h20 are available in a register. Can someone just kind of go through the steps as to how to set this up. At this point I am not sure if any other info is needed. Thanks

Which model GE Fanuc PLC? What is the part number of your analog module? What programming software are you using? Some GE Fanuc PLCs have a scaling instruction in their function set. Some analog input modules include scaling in their configuration.

4-20 mA is seen by the PLC as 0-32000 ( 0= 4mA & 32000 = 20mA) To scale this use the Scale Int instruction. The help in Proficy explains this instruction very well.

As jseavers says, the raw data from the analog input will range from 0 at 4 mA to 32000 at 20 mA. This corresponds to a range of 0 - 5" water column. Unfortunately, the Scale instruction that jseavers mentions is not available in the 90-30, so you will have to do the arithmetic yourself.

Using Tom's method:
DataOffset = Data in input register at 4 mA (or zero analog signal of whatever range - for example 0 VDC on a 0-10 VDC transmitter)
DataOffset = 0

DataSPan = Data at 20 mA - Data @ 4 mA
DataSpan = 32000

FACTOR = arbitrary factor (multiple of 10) needed to get proper resolution and accuracy
FACTOR = 500

EU = Engineering Units x FACTOR

EUOffset = Engineering Units @ 4 mA x FACTOR
EUOffset = 0

EUSpan = (Engineering Units @ 20 mA - Engineering
Units @ 4 mA) x FACTOR
EUSpan = 500

DATA = Actual data reading in input register

EU = ((EUSpan x (DATA - DataOffset))/DataSpan) + EUOffset

ProcessValue = EU / FACTOR

Example: Analog data value = 16000 (50% of full scale)
EU = ((500 * (16000 -0))/32000) + 0 = 250