need help controlling 24v solenoids

alan cranfill

Hello to all. First of all, I am a carpenter and have little experience with computers , but understand basic wiring. I built a shop press powered by hydraulics. The pump has 2 24v solenoids 60hz. I will be doing basic pressing and broaching. I would like something like a joystick that would have a variable speed. Up & down with center stop or float. On a budget. I looked up the danfoss model, but do not know much about it. Will I need a plc? all advice is welcomed. Thanks to all and have a great day! Alan

Hello to all. First of all, I am a carpenter and have little experience with computers , but understand basic wiring. I built a shop press powered by hydraulics. The pump has 2 24v solenoids 60hz. I will be doing basic pressing and broaching. I would like something like a joystick that would have a variable speed. Up & down with center stop or float. On a budget. I looked up the danfoss model, but do not know much about it. Will I need a plc? all advice is welcomed. Thanks to all and have a great day! Alan

Alan
If this is a manual operation I would think a manual two way hydraulic valve with proportioning (if you can get one that will meet your need) and maybe with throttle valves to give you a little more control of speed may be the better way to go.

You could go electric control
but the solenoid valves will not give you speed control just open / shut (I think)
UNLESS they are proportioning type valves.

IF mine and in your shoes I would hook up the two solendoids to two control switches and try it out. Will the pump even be able to produce enough pressure and flow to meet your needs?

I do not believe you would need a PLC to do this setup.
Dan Bentler

Last edited:
You won't be able to have variable speed unless you have a proportional valve. This would alllow you to use a PLC to control the amount a port is opened.