RSLOGIX Emulate 500

dabanani

I recently started learning Allen Bradley PLC programming and have been using the emulate 500. I want to find a way to have simulation switches and outputs so i can click on them to turn them off or on rather than going in to the data table to do this. Do anyone know how to create button to represent switches in emulate 500?

YOur help will be ver y helpful.
Thank you.

If you have RSLogix500 Professional, you can use the Custom Graphical Monitors. They are similar to Custom Data Monitors except they have some crude buttons, gauges and other "HMI-like" stuff.

Setting up a CGM is fairly straightforward except assigning tags. To do that you must drag and drop the address onto the CGM object. I usually set the CGM for "On Top" so that they don't disappear behind a ladder window when I am assigning addresses.

If your CGMs are greyed out, then you could use the custom data monitor (CDM) which is available in the standard version of RSLogix.

The CDM is just a list of addresses (of your choosing), their values and descriptions. Use the keyboard or drag and drop to enter addresses, and if you enter text that RSLogix doesn't recoginize, it will be treated as a comment to allow you to divide your address list into groups.

Hope this helps,
Paul

'RSLOGIX Emulate 500'

Thank you very much OkiePC. I was able to create a simulation of my classroom plc station. One thing i am unable to do is to make a push button or a switch that will act like push button

Yes I am using Custom Graphical Monitors in RS Logix 500 Pro.
your help will be highly appreciated.

For a maintained button, I found that I could use the TOGGLE button most easily.

I also have several buttons on my CGM that are 'supposed' to be read only, but clicking on them still changes their appearance momentarily. This does not appear to affect the real addresses, only the appearance in the CGM.