WinCC Flexible log script help

Fiddeflygare

Hi all.
I am a student that are taking courses in PLC programming. I have my internship at a company that uses Siemens STEP7 and WinCC Flexible. The problem is that we where thinking of creating a diagnostics log wich in case of a alarm would retrieve information from 15minutes before the alarm occured in a .csv log file and save the values retrieved in a new .csv file. This is made cause of helping diagnose problems and seeking the cause of certain alarms on the machine. Can anyone tell me the easiest way of doing this with a script? Especially how to make the script retreive the values in the normal datalog in the interval 0 to -15 minutes. Can you make the script search and retreive values by making it read the timestamps in a logfile?

Greatful for any help
/Fidde

Hejsan Fidde.

Let me try to grasp what you try to do.

You constantly log values to .csv files.
In case there is an alarm, you want to retrieve values from the logfiles from 15 minutes before the alarm was triggered, and then write the values into another .csv file.

I think that it could possibly be done.
But the purpose defeats me, as you could just keep the original log file, and for troubleshooting go back and check the values by comparing the time in a logfile for alarms only.
It is as if you dont think an operator can put 2 and 2 together, that he cannot figure out how to compare the information from two logfiles.

There is also a serious pitfall:
Do not execute scripts upon value change on many tags - such as if you execute scripts when one of many configured alarms are triggered.
There is a limit of max 20 active VBS scripts at one time.
If many alarms are triggered at the same time, or very shortly after each other (something that may well happen), it will cause a script buffer overflow. That again will probably crash the VBS scripting system altogether.

Hejsan! =)

Your grasping is correct!