90-70 Failure

robertm1

Hi all, I am a maintenance engineer. I have had three GE 90-70 complete failures in the last two weeks. Has anyone ever had complete communication failure on these processors, only to find after replacing the module that they start communicating again.
Communicating through ethernet card on network. Model number IC697CPX935.

Last edited:
It's hard to believe that 3 consecutive processors would fail in the same way like that. Its sounds very much to me like you have a problem with your communication wiring. Eliminate that as a potential source of problem before looking at the processor. Check for broken wires, incorrect terminations, crossed conductors, improper shielding.

$

Hi all, I am a maintenance engineer. I have had three GE 90-70 complete failures in the last two weeks. Has anyone ever had complete communication failure on these processors, only to find after replacing the module that they start communicating again. These are on three different applications but all on the same network. When they quit they dump the memory with no faults in the table. I can replace the module and then place the bad one a test stand the next day and it has no issuses. I have sent one off to GE for failure analysis. I still have the other two in shop.
Communicating through ethernet card on network. Model number IC697CPX935.

Now I'm more confused than I was earlier. When you say "dump the memory", do you mean there is no longer a program or configuration or data in the PLC? That would mean the entire process controlled by the PLC shuts down as well. Is that what is happening? Or is the problem in the ethernet communications module?

IC697CPX935 is a 90-70 CPU, it's only onboard communications is serial. Are you using a 90-70 Ethernet card? Which one? What else is in the racks? When the system "goes down", is the processor still in run mode? What is the LED status on both the processor and Ethernet card?