Modbus programming

thejoker954

Hi all, I'm currently using a IDEC Pentra FC5A and need to use it as a modbus slave. I am having some trouble figuring out how to do this, I can make it a master no problem but I can't seem to make it a slave, does anyone know where I can find some programming examples for a FC5A modbus slave or knows how to program the transmissions? this is my first time doing anything with modbus and Idec's documentation really lacks any usefull info on programming a slave.

Just from a quick Googling of 'IDEC Pentra FC5A' and 'MODBUS' I found an intro paper from B&B electronics. It looks like the only setup on a slave is to set its address. Otherwise the master does all the work.

Manual is at
http://www.bb-elec.com/bb-elec/literature/IDEC/Pentra Modbus Training_1-12-07.pdf

Slave settings:
1eb6f4.jpg

Dan

Set up the Slave first, then switch to S7

I am not using IDEC , I am using S7. There is a lot of useful information in this document, but the method of setting the slave address does not appear to be relevant to S7. Or I am missing something.

You need to set up the slave device (Modbus Slave ID Number is always relevant) first in whatever software is used (see page 6 of document from B+B), then switch to the S7 master and give it a go.

You need to set up the slave device (Modbus Slave ID Number is always relevant) first in whatever software is used (see page 6 of document from B+B), then switch to the S7 master and give it a go.

First , thanks for the help.

I assume the IDEC software is free somewhere and you propose to work around Siemens just to change the slave address. While this gets the job done, it sort of lets Siemens off the hook.

A part of me realy wants to force them to face thier own documentation and software with me. I am beyond just trying to work something out. I want someone at Siemens to receive my feedback and possibly add it to others and actualy bring a better product to us or at least a revised manual.