Help for a beginner!

trouble

I'm currently a electrician and I am soon to start in the plc field and was wondering what tools are necessary to have for the hands on work. Thanks

Tenacity and resilience!

Safety first and Always.

You'll need your usual sparky hand tools. A decent Fluke. A loop calibrator/simulator. Laptop, leads, software and manuals.

Your best tool: the confidence to ask when you need help!

Last edited:
A big hammer comes in handy 🔨

A bible to get the program to work 🤞🏻

A hat to cover the bald spot :unsure:

Some magic to make the program work :geek:

A brick wall is not needed... you will find them on your owno_O

Beer... lots of beer 🍻

Someone to tell you how to do things even if they don't have any idea:teacher:

And last but not least... about 200,000 friends to help you when you get stuck :site:

Thanks for the info

:ROFLMAO:Most of GIT's suggestions are things I need on my current job. I'll be looking for more of this good advice later!

Someone to tell you how to do things even if they don't have any idea:teacher:

Amen to that

Had a plant Engineer come out with a list of things that needed to happen on startup day and first on the list was make a backup of the program we "Ordered"

He thought we ordered the program for a built in house machine ready to go.

Plant engineer was his title. Buisness management was his background. Go figure.

You're way ahead of the game Trouble. Understanding ohms law as you know is the beginning of all this. Writing a Ladder Logic Program or Instrustion List is something that takes practice, time and experience. There are many talented people in here that can answer any question you might have. My advice is to keep it simple at first. As for tools Silva Foxx is steering you right. Enjoy your new adventure in the world of PLC programming. Some of these guys can work magic with them.:)

Just take some modern PLC (not S...tic), maybe A-B, or even better Sixnet.