Bit labels?

ajbachhuber

I'm a reasonably novice programmer. I am somewhat comfortable with Koyos offerings. I have had some training with Koyo's equipment at a local technical institute as part of an associates degree program. I have programmed some in-house built equipment at the plant where I work. Nothing huge though, no math functions and no data storage/retrieval functions. Primarily just timing and logic or logical sequence functions based on discrete inputs. 26 discrete inputs and 27 discrete outputs.

I:0/1 ?
--] [------------------( )--

? O:0/1
--] [------------------( )--

I am particularly interested in futhering my knowledge/comfort level with AB's line because of its prevalence in the OEM, and more specifically, the automotive manufacturing world. I thank you in advance for your patience.

In the above ladder with a Koyo unit, I would use the address C0 (through Cxxx depending on the available range) to allow I:0/1 to turn on O:0/1.

I bought the LogixPro Simulation training software for the RSLogix software and have gathered some basic information through the tutorials. I know that I could use the following in place of the ? to make the statements true:

S:0/0
B3:0/0
N7:0/0

and there are probably more. I ran these through the simulator and was able to make them work.

My question is: Why? Could someone give me an example of an application or a "rule of thumb" as to why I would use one over another or what the difference is?

Thank you.

The files you mentioned:
S:0/0
B3:0/0
N7:0/0
represent different types of files
S:0/0 is a bit in the status files
B3:0/0 is binary or bit file..used similar to C (control) in AD
N7:0/0 is an integer file at the bit level

NOTE: the 0 represents the word level of that type file the second 0 represents the bit level of that word file.

S: Status files offer a multitude of things...example would be time/date, which could be used to trigger something