Siemens Communication between PLC (1-2)

profmaster

Hi,

I need some info regarding Siemens PLC.
I'm new with this model, Siemens Simatic 505 Family, CPU PLC 555
I think this is very old model. I need do some modification.

Is that possible I use RS232 to communicate with PLC.
I want make from 1 PLC(main) to 2 PLC(slave).
How I want communicate between PLC CPU using RS232?

I found each CPU board have 2 com port. RS232 #1 and RS232 #2.
RS232#1 is connected to Touch Screen and RS232#2 still available.

What I must to do?
shrug.gif

One more thing, I found 1 card that know as Peerlink at each PLC rack.
What is that?

Please help.
helpsmilie.gif

Thanks....

If each PLC has a Peerlink card, they are most likely already passing data between each other.

Peerlink is a local area network that provides an inexpensive and easily
implemented solution for small controller networks. Typically, a major factor
in this application is rapid, frequent transfer of data between controllers. By
using an HDLC-like protocol for data integrity and rapid transmission, the
Peerlink network can transmit 16 words to 16 controllers in less than 75 ms
at maximum load. The Peerlink network can operate at distances up to
10,000 feet.

Peerlink is transparent to your applications program and transmits the
data directly to the controller variable memory. No programming is
necessary, since you only have to define the starting address. Peerlink
provides two fault tolerance methods; media redundancy, or active/passive
monitoring.

Each controller on the TiWay network with a Peerlink module must have 16 Words of memory designated for each PLC on the network. So if you only two plc's you will need 32 contiguous words of memory designated.

The peerlink data is multi-cast type data, each PLC sends 16 words to all nodes, hence the memory requirement. From within ladder you read/write to the memory locations.